HOME    »    PROGRAMS/ACTIVITIES    »    Annual Thematic Program
IMA Annual Program Year Workshop
First Abel Conference: A Mathematical Celebration of John Tate
January 3-5, 2011

The IMA gratefully acknowledges the generous support of the conference from IBM Research and the University of Minnesota.

Joe BuhlerCenter for Communications Research
Geir EllingsrudUniversity of Oslo
Benedict GrossHarvard University
Kenneth RibetUniversity of California, Berkeley
Group Photo

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters named John Tate the 2010 recipient of the Abel Prize "for his vast and lasting impact on the theory of numbers."

John Tate has received many awards and honours. As early as 1956, he was awarded the American  Mathematical Society’s Cole Prize for outstanding contributions to number theory. In 1995 Tate  received the Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement from the American Mathematical Society.  Tate was honoured “for his creation of fundamental concepts in algebraic number theory” when he  shared the Wolf Prize in Mathematics with Mikio Sato in 2002/2003. He was an invited speaker at the  International Congress of Mathematicians in 1962 in Stockholm and again in 197 in Nice. John Tate was elected to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences in 1969. He was named a foreign member of the French Académie des sciences in 1992 and an honorary member of the London Mathematical Society in 1999.


Connect With Us: