HOME    »    PROGRAMS/ACTIVITIES    »    Annual Thematic Program
IMA Annual Program Year Workshop
Third Abel Conference: A Mathematical Celebration of Endre Szemeredi
November 29 - December 1, 2012

The IMA gratefully acknowledges the generous support of the conference from IBM Research, Microsoft Research and the University of Minnesota.

Imre BárányHungarian Academy of Sciences (MTA)
Joel SpencerNew York University
Helge TverbergThe Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Group Photo

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters named Endre Szemerédi the 2012 recipient of the Abel Prize "for his fundamental contributions to discrete mathematics and theoretical computer science, and in recognition of the profound and lasting impact of these contributions on additive number theory and ergodic theory."

Szemerédi is a permanent research fellow at the Alfréd Rényi Institute of Mathematics, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, in Budapest. He also serves as the New Jersey Professor of Computer Science at Rutgers University. He has received numerous awards throughout the course of his career, including the Leroy P. Steele Prize (2008); the Rolf Schock Prize in Mathematics (2008); Prize of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences (1979); Pólya Prize for Achievement in Applied Mathematics (SIAM) (1975); Rényi Prize (1973); and the Grünwald Prize (1967 and 1968).


Connect With Us: