HOME    »    ABOUT THE IMA    »    Board of Governors
Board of Governors

The IMA's board consists of 15 distinguished members from academia, industry, and national laboratories. The board is the principal governing body of the IMA.

The role of the board is twofold: first, to provide oversight and advice on matters of institute management, development and institutional relationships. And second, board members play an active scientific role in planning and developing annual program themes as well as identifying lead program organizers. The board meets for two days annually and subcommittees meet several times annually by conference call.

IMA Now Accepting Board of Governors Nominations

The Institute for Mathematics and its Applications is now accepting nominations for its Board of Governors. Applicants may either self-nominate or they may be nominated by others.

Submission of Nominations

Prospective applicants should submit an application via the online form at www.ima.umn.edu/bog. All nominations will be reviewed by the Nominations Committee. Applicants will be notified of the committee's decision no later than December 1, 2014.

Closing Date

Nominations are due no later than July 31, 2014.


Contact IMA Director Fadil Santosa or Dana Randall, Chair, IMA Board of Governors.

  Current Board of Governors Members
Christian BorgsMicrosoft Research01/01/2014-12/31/2018
Rene CarmonaPrinceton University01/01/2011-12/31/2015
Amir DemboStanford University01/01/2012-12/31/2016
Bjorn EngquistUniversity of Texas, Austin01/01/2013-12/31/2017
Irene FonsecaCarnegie-Mellon University01/01/2014-12/31/2018
Thomas GrandineThe Boeing Company01/01/2012-12/31/2016
Alice GuionnetMassachusetts Institute of Technology01/01/2013-12/31/2017
Thomas Y. HouCalifornia Institute of Technology01/01/2010-12/31/2014
Trachette L. JacksonUniversity of Michigan01/01/2012-12/31/2016
Erica Zimmer KlampflFord Motor Company01/01/2013-12/31/2017
Richard M. MurrayCalifornia Institute of Technology01/01/2011-12/31/2015
Douglas W. NychkaNational Center for Atmospheric Research01/01/2011-12/31/2015
Dana RandallGeorgia Institute of Technology01/01/2010-12/31/2014
Panagiotis E. SouganidisUniversity of Chicago01/01/2010-12/31/2014
Yang WangHong Kong University of Science and Technology01/01/2014-12/31/2018
  Complete list of all Board of Governors Members
Connect With Us: