HOME    »    PROGRAMS/ACTIVITIES    »    Annual Thematic Program
Postdoctoral Members for 2001-2002 Program on
Mathematics in the Geosciences

With the advice of the organizers of the 2001--2002 year on Mathematics in the Geosciences, the IMA has chosen eight new postdoctoral members for the period September 1, 2001 to August 31, 2003. As was the case last year, most postdocs were offered two year appointments. These postdocs will be active participants in all activities of the annual program. They were chosen from a long list of well-qualified recent Ph.D. recipients.

First Year Postdocs

Name PH.D. Institution Advisor
Dacian Daescu University of Iowa Gregory Carmichael
Gregory S. Duane University of Colorado Peter Webster
Michael Efroimsky University of Oxford  
Daniel Kern University of Illinois-Chicago Floyd B. Hanson
Anna Mazzucato Yale University Michael E. Taylor
Miao-jung Yvonne Ou University of Delaware Robert P. Gilbert
Toshio Yoshikawa University of Utah Alexander M. Balk


Second Year Postdocs


Name PH.D. Institution Advisor
Jamylle Carter UCLA Tony Chan
Vittorio Cristini Yale University  
Selim Esedoglu Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences Robert Kohn
Jianliang Qian Rice University William Symes

Industrial Postdocs

Name Company PH.D. Institution Advisor
Santiago Ignacio Betelu Seagate Univ. Nacional del Centro de la Provincia de Buenos Aires Roberto Gratton
Christine Cheng Telcordia Technologies Johns Hopkins University Lenore Cowen
Aurelia Minut 3M Michigan State University Zhengfang Zhou


Regular Postdoctoral Members 1982-present

Industrial Postdoctoral Members 1990-present

2001-2002 IMA Thematic Year on Mathematics in the Geosciences

Top of page

Connect With Us: