HOME    »    PROGRAMS/ACTIVITIES    »    Annual Thematic Program
Postdoctoral Fellowships for 2002-2003 Program on

With the advice of the organizers of the 2002--2003 year on Optimization, the IMA has chosen eight new postdoctoral fellowships for the period September 1, 2002 to August 31, 2004. As was the case last year, most postdocs were offered two year appointments. These postdocs will be active participants in all activities of the annual program. They were chosen from a long list of well-qualified recent Ph.D. recipients.

First Year Postdocs
Name PH.D. Institution Advisor
Olga Brezhneva Russian Academy of Sciences Alexey Tret'yakov
Lisa Miller (formerly known as Lisa Evans) Georgia Institute of Technology Ellis L. Johnson
Balaji Gopalakrishnan Georgia Institute of Technology Ellis L. Johnson
Hervé Kerivin Universty of Blaise Pascal-France Ali Ridha Mahjoub
Tamon Stephen University of Michigan Alexander Barvinok
Jing Wang University of Minnesota Robert Gulliver/Fadil Santosa
Second Year Postdocs
Name PH.D. Institution Advisor
Dacian Daescu University of Iowa Gregory Carmichael
Gregory S. Duane University of Colorado Peter Webster
Michael Efroimsky University of Oxford  
Daniel Kern University of Illinois-Chicago Floyd B. Hanson
Miao-jung Yvonne Ou University of Delaware Robert P. Gilbert
Toshio Yoshikawa University of Utah Alexander M. Balk
First Year Industrial Postdocs
Name/Company PH.D. Institution Advisor
Lili Ju
VA Hospital
Iowa State University Max D. Gunzburger
Haewon Nam
Texas A&M University David Dobson
Jun Zhao
Schlumberger-Doll Research
Texas A&M University Joseph E. Pasciak
Yusuf Bilgin Altundas
University of Pittsburgh Gunduz Caginalp
Second Year Industrial Postdoc
Name/Company PH.D. Institution Advisor
Aurelia Minut
Michigan State University Zhengfang Zhou


Photo Gallery

Regular Postdoctoral Fellowships 1982-present

Industrial Postdoctoral Fellowships 1990-present

2002-2003 Program Year on Optimization
Connect With Us: